It should be no surprise to anyone that Texas was recently ranked 3rd worst state for bad drivers by researchers at Car Insurance Comparison. The insurance marketplace website factored in statewide traffic fatalities, drunk driving, and reckless driving. The study found that drunk driving is particularly bad in Texas and was responsible for 1,673 out of 3,642 traffic fatalities analyzed by Car Insurance Comparison. This accounted for more than 45 percent of all traffic fatalities researched in the study.
In a similar study conducted in 2019, Texas ranked No. 5 for having the worst drivers. The Lone Star State's ranking rose by two slots in 2020, putting it just behind Alaska and New Mexico. For nine years, Texas has ranked within the top 10 in insurance company rankings for having the worst drivers.
Historically, alcohol impairment and speed have been leading factors in Texas traffic fatalities. These are the figures from 2010-2019:
- Traffic fatalities - 34,784 from 2010 to 2019
- Drunk driving fatalities - 13,688 (39.3% of all traffic fatalities)
- Speed-related fatalities - 11,444 (32.9% of all traffic fatalities)
Building a case against a bad driver
Crashes involving drunk drivers and speeders are 100 percent preventable. They often occur because impaired drivers and speeders lack the control and good judgment needed to safely operate a car. As a result, thousands of people's lives are turned upside down across the state of Texas each year. Families lose loved ones and those who survive these catastrophes often sustain severe and life-changing injuries. Some of the injuries we have seen at the Law Offices of Gene S. Hagood include:
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Broken bones
- Spinal injuries including quadriplegia and paraplegia
- Severe burns
- Permanent nerve damage
- Internal organ damage
If you sustained any of these injuries in a crash caused by someone else's negligence, it's important that you speak to an experienced Texas car accident lawyer. You may need an operation and months of physical therapy to recover from your injuries. Factor in the emergency room visit, hospital stay, medication, X-rays, and time off from work, and your losses could be financially devastating.
Be aware that the at-fault driver's insurance company will likely contact you and ask for a recorded statement. They may even offer you a quick settlement in hopes that you'll take it. Don't give the insurance companies the advantage. Let our experienced legal team conduct a thorough investigation, gather the facts and advocate for a fair and full settlement on your behalf.
What if I lost a loved one in a crash?
If you lost a loved one in a crash in Texas, you have the right to pursue a wrongful death lawsuit. You must be the surviving spouse, child or parent of the crash victim.
The damages you can recover include:
- Burial and funeral expenses
- Medical expenses related to your loved one's death
- Loss of consortium, guidance, protection, companionship, comfort and care that your loved one would have provided
- Loss of potential income or earnings your loved one would have gained
- Mental and emotional anguish endured by the family of the crash victim
The statute of limitations to file a wrongful death claim in Texas is two years. The longer you wait, the more difficult it will be to build a strong case. Evidence can disappear quickly or be covered up. In addition, the at-fault driver could try to change their story. Demand legal action while the evidence is fresh. Contact the Law Offices of Gene S. Hagood for a free case evaluation. We serve clients in the greater Alvin, Houston and Galveston areas.